Hitting Ctrl + F5

23 Feb

I came home from the airport at 2am in morning on Monday to a house half-packed in boxes.  We are moving to a new address soon and my sister has kickstarted the effort.  While a bad hypertension attack has kept me in bed and useless*, the promise of the move has kept my spirits up.

Changing homes represents a fresh start.  A de-cluttering.  A purging.  As we put our lives in cardboard boxes, we are given the unique opportunity to think about the years’ accretions.  We get to ask ourselves what is important and what we are holding onto for the wrong reasons.  The gorgeous, unworn, red “incentive” coat blazer, 2 sizes too small, will be put up for adoption; while my kids’ tattered blankets my mom hand-monogrammed will stay with me. My husband will scan and shred mounds of documents, and move with only a hard drive.   The kids will give away toys and clothes that they’ve outgrown, and keep only what can find shelf space in their new rooms.

The move also inspires an emotional cache clearing.  We leave the difficult memories of Ondoy in the water-damaged wood mouldings of the house on Dona Juliana Street, in favor of the possibilities of the wide, dry (!) spaces in our Upton Street address.  The blessing that is our beautiful new home makes negativity about work or school or health or family seem like wasteful emotional indulgences.  With the clearing of inner clutter, we hope to make room for assets that truly matter.

We move in two weeks.

* I forgot  to bring my meds to the US and flew home in coach, sandwiched between two large men, bringing my blood circulation to a stand still.  Left leg was numb half the trip!

5 Responses to “Hitting Ctrl + F5”

  1. rolly 02.25.2010 at 09:04 #

    My wife should read this. She’s one who will not let go of anything! When we had our house renovated, I thought that would clear the house with more space and throwing away of unneeded things. Man, was I wrong. The rooms became short of what I can call a storage.

    One thing I am assured of is that I know that with my wife like that, I am for keeps! 🙂

    • Mona 02.25.2010 at 11:36 #

      Aw, sweet nyo naman. 🙂

  2. batjay 03.01.2010 at 11:44 #

    jet and i have moved 6 times in the last 8 years. there is a cleansing effect in every move, but boy it is a big pain.

  3. Mona 03.04.2010 at 10:34 #

    @batjay: di ko yata kaya 6 times in 8 years. baka hindi na ko bumili ng gamit para lang wala na kong bubuhatin.

  4. batjay 03.05.2010 at 02:47 #

    very light lang kami during the first few moves pero itong last time was a pain dahil nagsimula na kaming mag ipon ng gamit sa california.

    are you moving because of the flood or is it the natural progression of moving up?

Comments are closed.

